Where’s a campfire when you need on?
Here are today’s five thing to know about Marshmallow:
- This confection is the modern version of a medicinal confection made from Althaea officinalis, the marshmallow plant.
- Not all marshmallows are vegan, most marshmallows contain eggs or animal based gelatin.
- The marshmallow is a confection that, in its modern form, typically consists of sugar, corn syrup, water, gelatin that has been softened in hot water, dextrose, vanilla flavorings, and sometimes coloring, whipped to a spongy consistency.
- The marshmallow probably first came into being as a medicinal substance, since the mucilaginous extracts comes from the root of the marshmallow plant, Althaea officinalis, which were used as a remedy for sore throats.
- Concoctions of other parts of the marshmallow plant had medical uses as well.
Today’s Pinterest Board : Marshmallow
Today’s Food History
- 1812 Agoston Haraszthy de Mokcsa was born. Mokcsa imported 1,400 varieties…
View original post 144 more words