Why Disney’s New Cinderella Is the Anti-Frozen

TIME

Ever since the cast was announced, I’ve been wishing hard on Disney’s new live action adaptation of Cinderella. This was, after all, a product of the new Disney, whose last princess-based effort resulted in the girl-power juggernaut we know and love as Frozen. And now Cate Blanchett, Helen Bonham Carter, and even Agent Carter’sbutt-kicking bombshell Hayley Atwell were on board. Surely this band of power women would have only signed on to a more modern Cinderella, one that finds a way luxuriate in the lush beauty of the tale while also giving it a much-needed jolt of female agency?

How I wish I didn’t have to deliver bad news. I was a bullied girl who grew up on Disney’s classic animated version, dreaming that a fairy godmother might also reveal me as the radiant woman I knew I could be. I fervently wanted this reboot…

View original post 926 more words

Author: rjbailey

"I have no idea what I'm doing, but I know I'm doing it really, really well." - Andy Dwyer

So, Whattaya Think?

