Hands-On With The New Roku 3

TechCrunch

[tc_aol_on code=”518752374″]

Yesterday, Roku announced that it had upgraded the hardware of its Roku 2 and Roku 3 streaming boxes as well as some new features for finding stuff to watch. While the company gave me a brief demo last week, today I got my first chance to sit down with the new Roku 3 to put it through its paces with my own accounts and Internet connection.

As you can see in the video above, the new hardware driving the box has gotten a noticeable bump in performance. Pressing the Netflix or Amazon Instant Video shortcuts on the included remote instantly brings up the corresponding app, not the logo and a loading animation as you might see on other set-top boxes. It’s a vastly superior experience if you’re moving up from an older Roku or a competitor whose hardware hasn’t gotten an upgrade in a few years (looking at you…

View original post 224 more words

Author: rjbailey

"I have no idea what I'm doing, but I know I'm doing it really, really well." - Andy Dwyer

So, Whattaya Think?

