UEFA confirms new seeding system for 2015-16 Champions League


Next year’s UEFA Champions League competition is set to get an overhaul in the way teams are seeded ahead of the group stage draw, UEFA confirmed on Wednesday.

[ RECAPS: All of this week’s UCL action ]

It had been long rumored that the European confederation would change the process by which it seeds the top eight teams at the head of each group. Beginning with the 2015-16 tournament, the eight seeds will be handed to the previous year’s Champions League winner and the reigning champions of the top seven remaining countries.

As is currently the case, the top eight seeds are determined by each club’s UEFA coefficient ranking, which takes into account a club’s performance in European competition over five seasons. For instance, Arsenal, who haven’t made the quarterfinal round since 2010, continuously garner a seeded place — and thus, a more favorable draw — despite finishing 3rd or 4th in the Premier League every season since 2005-06.

View original post 97 more words


Author: rjbailey

"I have no idea what I'm doing, but I know I'm doing it really, really well." - Andy Dwyer

So, Whattaya Think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.