ULA Atlas V to Launch MUOS 4 for the U.S. Military

DanSpace77

15-208

Image Credit & Copyright: United Launch Alliance (ULA) of the MUOS-3 Atlas V-551 launch vehicle.

LAUNCH ALERT: Monday, August 31, 2015 at 08:07 UTC (04:07 EDT & 01:07 PDT) a United Launch Alliance (ULA) Atlas V-551 Rocket (AV-056) will launch the 4th of 5 United States Navy’s Mobile User Objective System (MUOS) satellites from Space Launch Complex-41 (SLC-41 or SLICK-41) at the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station (CCAFS), Florida.

The Atlas family dates back to 1959. This will mark the 56th Atlas V launch and the 6th in the 551 configuration. The previous 5 were the 3 prior MUOS launches, New Horizons to Pluto and Juno to Jupiter.

The Mobile User Objective System 4 (MUOS-4) satellite is a next-generation narrowband tactical satellite communications system designed to significantly improve ground communications for U.S. forces on the move. MUOS will provide military users 10 times more communications capability over existing systems, including…

View original post 604 more words

Advertisements

Author: rjbailey

"I have no idea what I'm doing, but I know I'm doing it really, really well." - Andy Dwyer

So, Whattaya Think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s